Feb 7 | 40 and Proud

Choctaw Area Chamber Blog, Celebration, Events, News

The Choctaw Chamber of Commerce began in 1977 when Evelyn Parker, L.G. Johnston, Don Page and Ray Rogers decided Choctaw needed a chamber. This group attended a conference at the University of Oklahoma that gave them the guidelines and procedures for organizing a chamber properly. After months of planning and with great input from local business owners, the Chamber held its first general membership meeting on July 11, 1977. At this meeting the first board of directors was elected: Don Page, President; L.G. Johnston, 1st Vice President; and Evelyn Parker, 2nd Vice President; along with other board members Ray Rogers, Bill E. Hunter, Bruce Davis, Howard Tackett, Richard Aco and Dr. Charles Shrum.